Joan's trip to Ireland travel blog

Howard, our leader; Kay, our guide; Eddie, the bus driver

Can you imagine driving this vehicle on what we consider the wrong...

Samuel Beckitt Bridge

replica of the Jeannie Johnston

Trinity College

The Long Room

Book of Mulling

Book of Kells

A bit of Irish humor

The city of Dublin

 

 

 

Gardens and bicycles

St. Patrick's Cathedral

 

 

 

 

Christ Church Cathedral

 

Guinness storehouse

The Phoenix Park

Wellington Testimonial

President Michael Higgins' residence

US Ambassador's residence

Daniel O'Connell

American's invade Ireland

Garden of Remembrance

Camden Court Hotel

Lynn, Winnie and Kay

Trish, Ron, Juan and Pam

Roberta, Jim, Pam and Jim

Mary Jo, Joan, Deb and Dale


We met Kay Cleary, our wonderful guide, and Eddie, our very impressive bus driver, and off we went on our Dublin City tour.

Commissioned by Dublin City Council, the Samuel Beckett Bridge (formerly Macken Street Bridge) is one of the two bridges designed by Calatrava, the other being the James Joyce Bridge completed in 2003. The Samuel Beckett Bridge serves as the continuation of an existing street and creates a necessary link in the urban axis between Macken Street/Cardiff Lane and Guild Street. This cable-stayed balanced bridge with two unequal spans provides vehicular traffic and pedestrian access crossing the Liffey River. It is also designed to a 90-degree horizontal rotation to free the river channel for water transport crossing the river. The bridge is 407 feet long and 89 feet wide with a single inclined curved pylon in the center, tipped at 151 feet above sea level.

The original ship, Jeanie Johnston, made 16 emigrant journeys to North America between 1847 and 1855, carrying over 2,500 people with no loss of life. This ship is an authentic replica, built in Tralee, Co. Kerry. It has sailed to North America and to various ports in Europe.

At Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin provides a liberal environment where independence of thought is highly valued and all are encouraged to achieve their potential. Located in a beautiful campus in the heart of Dublin's city center, Trinity is Ireland's highest ranked university. The main chamber of the Old Library is the Long Room; at over 200 feet in length, it is filled with 200,000 of the Library’s oldest books and is one of the most impressive libraries in the world.

The Book of Mulling or less commonly, Book of Moling, is an Irish pocket Gospel Book from the late 8th century. The text collection includes the four Gospels, a liturgical service which includes the "Apostles' Creed", and in the colophon, a supposed plan of St. Moling's monastery enclosed by two concentric circles.

The Book of Kells is a 9th century manuscript that documents the four Gospels of the life of Jesus Christ. The Book of Kells is Ireland’s greatest cultural treasure and the world’s most famous medieval manuscript.

Saint Patrick's Cathedral in Dublin, founded in 1191, is the National Cathedral of the Church of Ireland. With its 141 ft spire, St. Patrick's is the tallest and largest church in Ireland.

Christ Church Cathedral, more formally The Cathedral of the Holy Trinity, is the cathedral of the United Dioceses of Dublin and Glendalough and the cathedral of the ecclesiastical province of the United Provinces of Dublin and Cashel in the (Anglican) Church of Ireland. It is the elder of the capital city's two medieval cathedrals, the other being St Patrick's Cathedral.

The Phoenix Park is the largest enclosed public park in any capital city in Europe and larger than Central Park. It was originally formed as a royal hunting Park in the 1660s and opened to the public in 1747. A large herd of fallow deer still remain to this day.

The Wellington Testimonial was designed by Robert Smirke as a testimonial to Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington, who is reputed to have been born in Dublin. It was completed in 1861 and is the tallest obelisk in Europe at just over 203 ft tall.

Extensive renovations to the US Ambassador’s residence were made by the U.S. Government in 1952. In the 1970s, the grounds were christened the name Deerfield by the wife of a United States ambassador on account of the number of deer who roam in the open parkland around the mansion (Phoenix Park). The property consists of 62 acres of lawn, orchards and gardens on which are located the Ambassador's residence, three cottages and a security building at the front gate. The lower ground floor of the residence comprises a ballroom, reception and dining room, library, office, kitchens pantry, staff room and laundry. Six suites, bedroom, bathroom and dressing room, plus a sitting room are located on the upper floor. Outdoor amenities include a seasonal American football field, basketball court and tennis court.

The statue on O’Connell St was commissioned in 1880 to commemorate Daniel O’Connell (1775-1847). O’Connell was born in Kerry and believed in employing peaceful tactics to achieve change. He fought for Catholic emancipation within the British Parliamentary system and the repeal of the Act of Union. He organized ‘Monster Meetings’ where literally hundreds upon thousands of people came to hear him speak. This monument was sculpted by John Henry Foley (1818-74) and considered his greatest work.

The Garden of Remembrance is a memorial garden in Dublin dedicated to the memory of "all those who gave their lives in the cause of Irish Freedom".

Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |