Amelia and Kiawah Islands travel blog

Hotel

Train Depot

US Senator David Yulee

Oldest Saloon in Florida

Nassau County Courthouse

Addison House

 

Fairbanks House

Williams House

Epps House

Tree covered streets

Tree covered streets

Public Beach at Amelia Island

Sunset over Amelia River (the intercoastal)


Fernandina Beach, What a wonderful, old town. Very interesting history, 400 years under 8 different flags...the French, the Spanish, the English, the Patriots, the Green Cross of Florida, the Mexican Rebel, the Confederate and the United States.

The historic district is a 50 block area and is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places. Founded in 1811 and names for King Ferdinand VIi of Spain. In 1853 the Florida Railroad was completed and brought tourism to the town. The train depot, now the Amelia Island Development Council, is the second one built; the original in 1855 and destroyed by hurricane in 1898, this one opened in 1899. The President and chief stockholder for the Florida Railroad was US Senator David Yulee and was commissioned in 1842 for a route from Fernandina to Tampa with a branch to Cedar Key. Prior to the Civil War it was completed to Gainesville. The War adversely affected the railroad with much of it being destroyed. After the war

Driving up and down the streets you see home after home from the late 1800's and early 1900's restored and maintained. Streets are mostly tree covered with Spanish moss draped fron the branches.

The Palace Saloon was originally a haberdashery, built in 1878,; opened as a gentlemen's saloon in 1903. During prohibition it became an ice cream parlor but returned to being a saloon in 1933. Nassau County Courthouse built in 1891 during the Golden Era of Fernandina. It is one of the finest surviving Victorian courthouses in Florida and the oldest county courthouse in continuous use.

The Addison House was built in 1876 for merchant Frank Simmons and is now a bed and breakfast. The Fairbanks House built for Major George Fairbanks the local newspaper editor in 1885 who was also a State Senator; now a B and B. Williams House built in 1856 and the gingerbread porch added in 1880. The Eppes Hoyse has stood on the corner of Ash and 10th for over one hundred years; residence of Thomas Jefferson Eppes a direct descendent of Pres. Thomas Jefferson. These are only a few of the many preserved homes throughout the historic district.



Advertisement
OperationEyesight.com
Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |