Alan & Teri's Travels travel blog


July 8, 2008

Start mileage: 37917 end mileage 37989

At 9:00 am we left for the Academy of Model Aeronautics in Muncie to see the IMAC scale pattern nationals. A enjoyed shooting video of the event to show to his Burlington County Radio Control Club buddies.

T finished reading her novel. Fortunately, there was a nice breeze blowing so the van didn’t get too warm.

We toured the AMA Museum. A noted that the exhibit of the 1950's Hobby Shop was amazingly similar to the one he frequented in his youth. We saw the model airplane that Maynard Hill flew across the Atlantic Ocean.

T enjoyed listening to the “Air Adventures of Jimmie Allen”, a radio program that was sponsored by Skelley Oil in 1933. Jimmie’s flying adventures accurately described how to fly an airplane. Listeners could get more detailed printed flying lessons with the purchase of Skelley Oil products. Skelley Oil Stations also gave away model airplane kits with higher levels of purchases. Like the Mail Pouch ads which enabled farmers to get their barns painted for free, Skelly’s marketing served a purpose by encouraging children to assemble and fly model airplanes.

We visited Minnetrista, a cultural center whose mission is to create awareness, understanding, and appreciation of the natural and cultural heritage of East Central Indiana. The museum had special exhibits on the relationship between nature and music. They had a replica of a bone whistle that was 53,000 years old, the holes of which some experts claim are animal teeth marks. The holes are evenly spaced and about finger size and the bone sure does make sounds like a flute.

Minnetrista was a project of the Ball family who owned Ball Brothers Glass Company. (Ball canning jars and other products). It opened in 1988, shortly before the company moved all of it’s manufacturing to the Asia.

We toured Oakhurst, the home Elizabeth Ball bequeathed to Minnetrista. The house was built in the early 1900's and was one of the first in Muncie to have gas heat and indoor plumbing. Called Oakhurst because all of it’s moldings, floors and cabinetry were constructed of Oak, the house is set amidst many gardens both formal and naturalized. T finally had a name for those 2nd and 3rd story screened porches on older houses. They are “sleeping” porches, accessible only from inside the house which the residents used in pre-air-conditioning days.



Advertisement
OperationEyesight.com
Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |