Jill and Tom's 2007 travels travel blog

A fascinating place, the four corners region. The Four Corners is the survey point at the intersection of the four U.S. states of Utah, Colorado, New Mexico, and Arizona and the high desert plateau region surrounding that point in the southwestern United States. This is the only point in the United States where four states touch. Three of the four state corners are on the Navajo Indian Reservation. The fourth corner, Colorado, is on the Ute Mountain Indian Reservation.

The Colorado Plateau, or "the Grand Circle's" stunning landscape of canyons, cliffs, mesas, buttes and spires was created by millions of years of volcanic eruptions and erosion. The Grand Circle embraces almost half of Utah, the southwest quarter of Colorado, the northwest corner of New Mexico and northern one-third of Arizona.

The Ancestral Puebloan people, the Plateau's first residents, settled around the Four Corners region about 2,000 years ago. Cliff dwellings and more than 4,000 ancient sites can be seen at Mesa Verde National Park, a designated World Heritage Site.

The breathtaking landscape, extending into both Arizona and Utah, is like no other place on earth. Other national parks we visited and loved were Arches, Canyonlands, and Capital Reef. Each park is a bit different, but a visit to all of them takes one back millions of years in geological time.

Do yourself a favor and get to these special places in our country before you pass on from this earth. You won't be dissappointed!

Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |