MyTripJournal Travel Blogs
Itinerary
DAWSON CREEK, BC 0mi Jun 25 Sat Arrive early, revive, refresh, relax. Wagon masters provide variety of information, Milepost included, for a journey you will never forget. Social.
Jun 26 Sun Explore, visit Interpretation Ctr., discover Heritage Vill. PM: a local rep. reflects on a town rich in history & welcomes us to Alaska Highway rendezvous.
Jun 27 Mon Prepare for a double-dose of fun on the farm! Hop on a haywagon, meet the friendly residents of an authentic game farm, & feast on a home-cooked dinner!

SIKANNI CHIEF, BC 157mi Jun 28 Tue Enroute, Kiskatinaw river bridge, the only orginal timber bridge in use on the Alaska Highway. Overnight overlooking the swirling water of the Sikanni River.

FORT NELSON, BC 125mi Jun 29 Wed Opportunity: Northwest Territory. Pm: Heritage Museum & exc displays of pioneer artifacts, antique cars, and construction equipment used building the Alcan.

LIARD HOTSPRINGS, BC 188mi Jun 30 Thu We wind our way north past the stunning, deep, blue waters of Muncho Lake. PM: soak up the scenery and the therapeutic waters of Liard Hot Springs.

WATSON LAKE, YT 130mi Jul 1 Fri Enter the rugged Yukon. PM: make a memory adding your sign to 60,000 others in the unique Sign Forest. Discover secrets of Northern Lights in IMAX theater.

TESLIN, YT 160mi Jul 2 Sat The Great River Divide, Nisutlin bridge, longest on the Alaska Hwy. Opt: George Johnson museum. Overnight at a lakeside, Tlingit Indian community. Dinner.

WHITEHORSE, YT 105mi Jul 3 Sun Teslin Lake shoreline--look out for wildlife. Dinner. Emphasis on fun with the vibrancy & energy of Cancan Girls at the Frantic Follies Gold Rush Revue.
Jul 4 Mon Sightseeing excursion including a guided tour of the historic SS Klondike, largest sternwheeler to cruise the Yukon River. Miles Canyon.
Jul 5 Tue Hike or float Miles Canyon, explore 5 museums, stroll wheelchair-able Millenium Trail to attractions, fish ladder, the dam, "the intake." Opt Dawson lv today.

HAINES, AK 248mi Jul 6 Wed Spectacular scenery. All you believed Alaska would be. Majestic drive to Haines, the eagle capital of the world.
Jul 7 Thu Included: Chilkat Eagle Federation. Opts: totem carvers, river tours, glacier flight, Heritage Museum, fishing, Dalton City Movie Set, Riplinsky trail hike.

DESTRUCTION BAY, YT 215mi Jul 8 Fri Scenic motoring through Alpine scenery and the Chilkat Eagle Preserve, to a home-cooked dinner and down-home entertainment.

TOK, AK 225mi Jul 9 Sat We wind our way back into Alaska on the Alcan. Campground entertainment tonight features Alaska artists and a chance to join a pancake toss competition.

FAIRBANKS, AK 200mi Jul 10 Sun Yummy, sourdough pancakes and reindeer sausage before our drive to Fairbanks. Enroute: Pipeline, Tanana, North Pole. Eve: Salmon Bake and Golden Heart Revue.
Jul 11 Mon Fairbanks' premier attraction, sternwheeler Riverboat Discovery, with Alaska native traditions, Iditarod sled dogs, and the Chena Indian Village. Lunch.
Jul 12 Tue Explore/discover a city rich in history & take advantage of tons of opts w/WM guidance: Arctic Circle flights, El Dorado Gold Mine, Univ museum, downtown.

DENALI PARK, AK 125mi Jul 13 Wed Follow the Nenana R. w/secluded overlooks, visitor ctr w/brilliant blankets of flowers. Opts: rafting, flight to McKinley, downtown array of attractions.
Jul 14 Thu Today hums w/the mystery of the unseen. Full day Tundra tour & endless spotting grizzlies, elusive moose, perhaps a peek at Mt. McKinley. Generous box lunch.

ANCHORAGE, AK 248mi Jul 15 Fri Ideal stopovers: world class Alaska Veterans Memorial, Talkeetna Mountain Climbing Museum, photo ops McKinley, not big, humongous! Wasilla Wal Mart.
Jul 16 Sat Alaska Heritage Ctr authentic indigenous encounter to enliven you with stories & customs, State Museum's hidden cultural treasures, lunch, chocolate factory.
Jul 17 Sun Open day brimming w/choices: charter wilderness fishing, dog sled rides, native shops, Wild Alaska movie, RR to Whittier, glacier tours, or relax/rejuvenate!

KENAI, AK 159mi Jul 18 Mon A sensory overload: view world's 2d largest bore tide, Alyeska, Turnagain Arm, Kenai R, Portage Glacier, Prince Wm. Sound, Soldotna, Russian Orthodox Church.
Jul 19 Tue For that intense buzz pop a line into world-renowned Kenai River. Witness take- your-breath-away views of the mouth of the Kenai backed by towering mountains!

HOMER, AK 88mi Jul 20 Wed Weave the Sterling Highway w/blooming pink fireweed. Park tonight with the bay whispering for you to relax. Shared transpt to the spit's tip for bay-view din.
Jul 21 Thu The Homer Spit sizzles with a smorgasbord of "must dos." Battle a halibut on a fishing adventure, cruise to Gulf Isle, beachcomb, view gathering of eagles.

SEWARD, AK 168mi Jul 22 Fri Slow down and be inspired by nature enroute to the gateway to the Kenai Fjords National Park.
Jul 23 Sat Nature on steroids! Fantastic Fjords cruise: awe-inspiring natural beauty, eagles nesting, playful porpoises, plunging canyons, towering glaciers, dinner.
Jul 24 Sun Seward, place of many treasures: Sea Life Ctr, Majestic Exit glacier, fishing possible, linger in local shops & galleries. Sun does not set--stay out late!

PALMER, AK 166mi Jul 25 Mon Zig zagging a national scenic byway. Turnagain Arm with Beluga Whales, Arctic Wildlife Park, Portage Glacier Visitor Ctr & Ice worm film, Alyeska tram ride.
Jul 26 Tue Highlights of a rich agricultural showplace, the world-famous Matanuska Valley visitor center, museum, reindeer farm, and musk ox farm.

VALDEZ, AK 260mi Jul 27 Wed The extreme WOW: our drive oozes w/stunning scenery. Matanuska Glacier hanging precariously, calm lakes, rushing rivers. Pm: waterfront rich w/shops & dining.
Jul 28 Thu Granite-jawed mtns. surround this bustling harbor where we experience a spectacular Columbia Glacier cruise/lunch, sea otters, seals, wildlife aplenty!

TOK, AK 255mi Jul 29 Fri Once again be mesmerized by the remote wilderness of Thompson Pass. Hop out for another look at Worthington Glacier. Top off your day with friends and pizza!

BEAVER CREEK, YT 110mi Jul 30 Sat Scenic motoring to one of two sites where Alaska Highway construction crews working in opposite directions connected the highway. Dinner and show.

HAINES JUNCTION, YT 180mi Jul 31 Sun We travel to the gateway of Kluane National Park. Options: Kluane National Park Visitor Center, Village Monument, and other, local attractions.

SKAGWAY, AK 190mi Aug 1 Mon The Klondike Highway, a feast for your eyes: Emerald Lake, Continental Divide, Tagish R., Carcross, Arctic sand dunes, Tormented Valley, and Horsetail Falls.
Aug 2 Tue Choices, choices, choices! Soapy Smith Revue, White Pass & Yukon RR, Robert Service Cabin/poetry, Arctic Brotherhood Club, the Iditarod Heritage Musuem.
Aug 3 Wed Jump aboard a ferry to captivating Juneau surrounded by rugged beauty. Meander bustling streets teeming with attractions. Set foot on Mendenhall Glacier.

TESLIN, YT 145mi Aug 4 Thu The Klondike Highway to the Carcross Highway onto the Alaska Highway. PM: shopping, browsing, relaxing.

JUNCTION 37, YT 160mi Aug 5 Fri The remainder of the Alaska Highway not covered on our way up to Alaska.

ISKUT, BC 209mi Aug 6 Sat Extraordinarily scenic motoring down the Cassiar Highway with possible wildlife sightings.

STEWART, BC 195mi Aug 7 Sun The Stewart-Hyder Access Road which rivals any Alaska Highway for scenic beauty. Enroute: Bear Glacier. PM: to Fish Creek for possible bear watching.
Aug 8 Mon AM: bus excursion to Stewart highlights, and weather permitting, Salmon Glacier. Farewell dinner.
------ ------
4411mi 45 Days
Home