We left Morowa early - nice caravan park and friendly caravanners. The first stop on the trip north was the once small township of Canna. There is a Lutheran Church, a town hall, both still in use and the old store which has a tree growing through the wall. It was also the site of the large railway village which houses the men who are laying a new track for the mining. We then drove on to Mellewa - there were lots of pink and white everlasting flowers in bloom. At Mullewa we stopped at Church of Our Lady of Mt Carmel and Saints Peter and Paul. It is a lovely stone church with stain glass windows. Attached is the old Priest House that houses a good museum (so we are told since it was closed). It is protected by the National Trust and was designed and built by Monsignor John C Hawes, a very influential architect who designed many churches/schools all over Australia and in the Bahamas. We then turned East and drove to Yalgoo, a town built around gold mining in the late 1890's. It has a very interesting court house museum but we stopped at the Dominican chapel of ST Hyacinth which was designed also by Monsignor Hawes as a chapel for the nuns who came to the town in 1920's to teach at the school. It really is quite an unusual building. The railway used to run through Yalgoo a long time ago - we stopped and had lunch at the railway station which is now been converted into a sporting complex and has the jockey club and race track out the front. The old railway line follows the highway for quite awhile east - some of the old stone bridges are still visible as are the railway platforms of long gone railway stations. The country is quite dry but there are lots of small bushes with pale pink/purple flowers scattered through the paddocks and beside the road. Unlike previous days where we have had to stop for emus crossing the road - today we had 2 goannas, 1 quite large cross the road. Another drive of about 1.5 hours saw us enter Mount Magnet in the early afternoon. We fueled up and popped into the very nice council run caravan park. Across the road was a good park and playground which the boys and dad spent some time with. The main road is extremely busy with all the trucks heading north carrying gear for mines. There is not much in the small town - 3 pups, a hall/cinema, half a dozen shops servicing the town of about 600. Like all the towns in WA - many of the building are built of stone and are built around 1890's. There is a mining and pastoral museum recently built in town and a lookout to see the current gold mine open pit. The boys played with some kids who were in the park - today is the start of the WA school holidays. We were even able to see some of the AFL grand final on TV.