The Capper Nomads Europe Adventure travel blog

Fuscha

 

The hedges

First glimpse of the castle

Strange flowers

 

 

The beautiful castle

 

Lunch time view

 

First Triamp motorbike

 

The thatched outbuildings

 

Old wedding dress

Believed to have belonged to Marie Antoinette

Rose Garden

The Hunting Room 1

The Hunting Room 2

Carved door

Looking out

Looking out again

Titania’s Palace

The throne room

The throne

Door in the dolls house

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The wooden man in the attic - do not move

 

View from the attic

 

 


The number one place to visit according to our guide book on Funen or Fyn was Egeskov Slot. We love to visit castles and gardens so this was right up our street.

The castle was built by Frands Brockenhuus and was completed in 1554. A few years prior to this, he had married Anne Tinhuus who had taken over the original estate from her parents. At the time the castle was built there was political unrest, the Reformation and the Count’s Feud which caused many landowners to build their houses as well- protected castles. The castle was therefore built in the middle of a lake on a foundation of oak piling, which according to legend, in such quantities that”it took an oak forest to do it”.

In 1784, Egeskov was sold to Henrik Bille whose descendants have owned the castle ever since. Various owners have added and developed the castle and the estate particularly the gardens. We started our exploration by exploring the gardens.

The original castle park was designed by Niels Krag the Younger (1722-1740). The layout drew its inspiration from the castle parks at Fredensborg and Frederiksborg as well as those of Versailles. One unique feature of the gardens is the 280 year old hedging system with now 12 m high hedges which surrounds the individual gardens. The gardens were lovely and we sat and ate our lunch on the lawns overlooking the castle- lovely.

As well as the castle there was a series of other museums in the park. We split up for a while Tony and Daisy visiting the various motor museums while Heather visited the castle. There were three distinct features within the castle. The first was the Hunting Room with its many animal heads and skins.

The second was the Titania’s Palace a most beautiful dolls house. This dolls house was created by the English painter Sir Neville Wilkinson and a staff of outstanding craftsmen, for his small daughter who had asked for a house for the little fairies she had seen in the garden. It took 15 years to complete and contains 3,000 unique objects collected from around the world.

The third item was the wooden man which lies in the attic under the main turret. It is said that” if he is ever moved from the pillow, the castle will sink into the moat on Christmas night” The current family leave Christmas fare out for him to share with the Christmas spirits. Nobody has dared move the doll!

It had been an excellent visit up to the standards of many of the English big country homes. A definite must for anyone visiting Denmark.



Advertisement
OperationEyesight.com
Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |