The baroque Bishops' Residenz of Wurzburg is one of Germany's largest and most ornate palaces. This former residence of the Wurzburg prince-bishop was designed by architect Balthasar Neumann and built over a 70-year period, beginning in 1720. Both the massive reception staircase and overhead ceiling are considered masterpieces of design, made even more impressive by the Venetian artist Giambattista Tiepolo's stunning "Four Continents" ceiling fresco. We saw several of the building's ornate rooms, each representing a different style highlighted by the Mirror Cabinet, painstakingly reconstructed after falling victim to massive bombing during World War II. Unfortunately we were not allowed to take pictures inside the building.
Würzburg Cathedral is a Roman Catholic cathedral dedicated to Saint Kilian. It is the seat of the Bishop of Wurzburg. The present cathedral, built from 1040 onwards by Bishop Bruno of Wurzburg, reckoned to be the fourth largest Romanesque basilica in Germany, is the third church on the site: the previous two, built in about 787 and 855, were respectively destroyed and severely damaged by fire. After Bruno's accidental death in 1045, his successor Adalbero completed the building in 1075.
Another iconic church building in Würzburg is the Neumünsterkirche, most notable for its 11th-century Romanesque east end and the Baroque west end, built in 1719. Under the dome are a figure of the Virgin and a crucifix, both by Riemenschneider, and in the west crypt is the sarcophagus of the Irish monk St. Kilian, the apostle of the Franks, who was murdered here in 689 AD along with his companions. In the former cloister, the Lusamgärtlein, is a memorial stone commemorating Walther von der Vogelweide, Germany's greatest medieval poet, who died in Würzburg in 1230.
The Marienkapelle (Church of Our Lady) is a late Gothic period hall church; construction started in 1377 and was finished in 1480 with the erection of a church tower.
The Wurzburg mummy is a bronze statue by Maria Lehnen. It sits on the steps on the north side of the Cathedral, back arched, head lifted, looking up at the towers of the Cathedral towering above.
The history of the Old Stone Bridge over the Main in Wurzburg goes back to the 12th century. Numerous strong floods in the 14th and 15 centuries increasingly weakened the original wooden bridge until almost all the arches had collapsed. From 1473 to 1543 the bridge was rebuilt the result being seven arches spanning the river. During the period, 1724-46, The Prince Bishops of Würzburg added 12 statues, two being kings and ten being saints, to the bridge. The Alte Mainbrücke was the only bridge over the Main in Würzburg until 1888 when the Luitpold Bridge was constructed, then several years later a third bridge crossed the river when the Löwenbrücke was erected in 1894. Today, after additions and modifications to the bridge over the years, the Old Main Bridge is a stone arch bridge with a length of 607 feet and a total width of about 25 feet. The bridge has eight arches, two of which are reinforced concrete with a natural stone veneer. The stone of the foundations and pillars are limestone.
The mighty Fortress Marienberg is a symbol of Würzburg and served as a home of the local prince-bishops for nearly five centuries. It has been a fort since ancient times. Most of the current structures originally were built in Renaissance and Baroque styles between the 16th and 18th centuries.
The Convent of the Franciscan Friars was founded by Caesar of Speyer with the support of Otto I von Lobdeburg in 1221, Prince-Bishop of Würzburg. It was the first Franciscan monastery North of the Alps. The monastery was doomed to extinction as it was forbidden to accept novices. However in 1839 novices were allowed and in 1841 the monastery re-founded. In 1857 the monastery became the seat of the Provincial, the leadership of German Franciscan-Friars Minor-province.