Last on our “itinerary” was the Mission Tejas State Park at Weches. We stopped first at the Rice Family Log Home, which was begun in 1828 by Joseph Redmond Rice, Sr. and his wife, Willie Masters. They enlarged it in 1838 (they had 11 children). Their grandson, John Rice, moved the house twice between 1919 and 1928. His widow, Nancy, donated it to the state and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department moved it to Mission Tejas in 1974 and restored it. It is not furnished.
Then we visited the site of Texas’ first Spanish mission. The park is named for Mission San Francisco de los Tejas. A wooden chapel built by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s commemorates the original Spanish mission.
We continued our drive through the park and then headed to Trinity, where we stopped for a sandwich before heading home. It has been a very good day.
ROUTE: TX 21 W to Crockett => TX 19 S to Trinity => FM 980 E to Lake Livingston => Waterwood Parkway